A 3-discovery adventure

Combined tickets for
3 historic sites within 5 km “

medieval lifting gear
la roque saint christophe
visit la roque saint christophe
animations la roque saint christophe
“Come and meet the cliff people
la roque saint christophe dordogne

Discover the troglodytic city of La Roque
Saint-Christophe in Dordogne

La Roque Saint-Christophe: The prehistory and history of a troglodytic site unique in the world.

Remarkable for its powerful forms, the number of its habitats and the age of its human occupation, Roque Saint-Christophe is nestled in a wild setting of rare beauty.

It’s a veritable limestone wall,one kilometer long and 80 meters high! Eroded by the Vézère river and frost over the millennia, a hundred or so rock shelters have been carved out of its aerial terraces.

These natural caves have been occupied by man since prehistoric times, then developed into a fort and a troglodytic city from the Middle Ages to the early Renaissance.

Immersion guaranteed
historical monument
troglodytic site dordogne
Why come?

The assets of La Roque Saint-Christophe

dogs allowed

Dogs accepted

We’re pet-friendly here!

visit at any time

Visit at any time

A refuge from the elements for millennia. Visitable whatever the weather!

free for children under 8

Free for children under 8

Free admission for children under 8.

open all year round

Open 7/7 all year round

Visit us 7/7 days a week, and you’ll be delighted!

on-site catering

Eating out

On-site catering

Events at La Roque Saint-Christophe

The team at La Roque Saint-Christophe offers you a activities for the whole family: from self-guided tours or guided tours demonstrations of medieval lifting machines, and themed workshops, a children’s guide, a treasure hunt and a 3D film showing the reconstruction of the site from its formation to the early Renaissance. Themed events include a theatrical performance on the theme of the knight and his horse in the 12th century, a sound and light show at night, and many other surprises throughout the year…

Our fun-filled events appeal to the whole family, as well as to connoisseurs who appreciate rich, contextualized historical information.

Learning & wonder
Generation that rocks

La Roque Saint-Christophe,
a family story

The year is 1938, and it’s been 350 years since the Roque Saint-Christophe was occupied by man. Visit vegetation has returned and the cliff is plunged into a deep sleep… Gabriel Touron, passionate Périgord native, accompanied by his wife Juliette, will awaken the stone giant and embark on a titanic task to uncover this priceless heritage of humanity! Following in Gabriel and Juliette’s footsteps, their descendants take up the torch, giving birth to a long family adventure.

Family history

How to visit La Roque Saint-Christophe

The Roque Saint-Christophe site is open every day of the year, with guided or self-guided tours available at no extra charge, depending on the season. We offer a rich program of events all year round during the school vacations. Consult the program in the “Events” section.

You can purchase your tickets in advance via our online ticketing service. Take advantage of our different formulas and rates, and discover our twin tickets, for discounts when visiting the Maison Forte de Reignac and the Donjon and Manoir de la Salle, two major sites in the Vèzère Valley, just a few kilometers away.

Tickets
Best formulas
La Roque commits

Eco-responsible visit

Because it has been protecting man and nature since prehistoric times, the Roque Saint-Christophe cliff in Périgord has been awarded LPO refuge status and the NF Environnement label, recognizing its history, ecological management and the protection of various bird species. protection of various bird species. . By preserving a site thousands of years old, where man first settled 55,000 years ago, the team at this tourist mecca in the Vézère Valley has acquired an ecological know-how that benefits the maintenance of species around the site.

Our commitment
cave dwellings dordogne
infos
Customer reviews & video highlights
troglodyte site
An excellent and enjoyable visit

Excellent visit (first one about ten years ago), always enjoyable. We’re rediscovering the splendid view. Even on a busy weekend, there was no waiting time at the entrance, and a self-guided tour is perfect for children. Explanatory booklets for adults and children.

la roque drone
A very interesting place to visit, steeped in history

We went there as a couple several years ago, and now we’re going back with our children, aged 2 and 4. Despite the crowds, parking was easy and there were plenty of picnic tables on the waterside. Admission is around €11 for adults and free for children under 8. A very interesting place to visit, steeped in history. On this long weekend, a period camp was set up with entertainment. Don’t forget to bring good shoes, as this area is sure to delight young and old alike.

visiting la roque out of season
Perfect with your dog

We had a great time and were even able to bring our Golden along, who thoroughly enjoyed the visit!

We recommend the guided tour, which is very interesting.

Great discoveries about the history of the Dordogne, life in the roque, …
We recommend the guided tour, which is very interesting.
Jeremy’s fascinating explanations transported and captivated us. The demonstration of lifting equipment is an added bonus for an immersive visit.

notice la roque saint christophe 2
The welcome was great

Magnificent with a lovely panorama. We didn’t take the guided tour as our little one was very energetic and we didn’t want to disturb anyone. However, the explanations of the “signs” and the video are very complete. We had a great welcome from a very nice young man with a great sense of humour. We really enjoyed it.

View all reviews

@

la_roque_saint_christophe

Une aventure 3 découvertes

Billets combinés pour
3 sites historiques à moins de 5 km ”

engin de levage moyen age
la roque saint christophe
visiter la roque saint christophe
animations la roque saint christophe
« Venez rencontrer le peuple des falaises »
la roque saint christophe dordogne

Découvrez la cité troglodytique de la Roque
Saint-Christophe en Dordogne

La Roque Saint-Christophe : La préhistoire et l’histoire d’un site troglodytique unique au monde.

Remarquable par ses formes puissantes, le nombre de ses habitats et l’ancienneté de son occupation par l’Homme, la Roque Saint-Christophe est nichée dans un cadre sauvage d’une rare beauté

C’est un véritable mur de calcaire, d’un kilomètre de long et haut de 80 mètres ! Erodé par la rivière la Vézère et le gel au cours des millénaires, une centaine d’abris sous-roche se sont creusés sur ses terrasses aériennes.

Ces cavités naturelles ont été occupées par l’Homme dès la Préhistoire, puis aménagées pour devenir un fort et une cité troglodytique, du Moyen Âge jusqu’au début de la Renaissance.

Immersion garantie
monument historique
site troglodytique dordogne
Pourquoi venir?

Les atouts de la Roque Saint-Christophe

chiens acceptés

Chiens acceptés

Ici nous sommes pet friendly !

visite en tout temps

Visite en tout temps

Un refuge contre les intempéries depuis des millénaires. Visitable quelle que soit la météo !

gratuit pour les moins de 8 ans

Gratuit -8ans

Entrée gratuite pour les moins de 8 ans.

ouvert toute l'année

Ouvert 7/7 toute l’année

Visite 7/7 jours pour votre plus grand bonheur !

restauration sur place

Se restaurer

Espace restauration sur place

Animations à la Roque Saint-Christophe

L’équipe de la Roque Saint-Christophe vous propose une multitude d’activités pour toute la famille : des visites libres ou guidées, des démonstrations de machines de levage médiévales, des ateliers thématiques participatifs, un guide de visite pour les enfants, un jeu de piste et un film en 3D présentant la reconstitution du site de sa formation jusqu’au début de la Renaissance. Des animations thématiques vous sont proposées : une représentation théâtralisée sur le thème du chevalier et son cheval au XIIème siècle, un spectacle de son et lumière en déambulation nocturne et plein d’autres surprises toute l’année…

Nos animations sont ludiques et plairont à toute la famille, ainsi qu’aux connaisseurs appréciant les  informations historiques riches et contextualisées. 

Apprendre & s’émerveiller
Génération qui roque

La Roque Saint-Christophe,
une histoire de famille

Nous sommes en 1938, cela fait 350 ans que la Roque Saint-Christophe n’est plus occupée par l’Homme. La végétation a repris ses droits et la falaise est plongée dans un profond sommeil … Gabriel Touron, Périgordin passionné, accompagné de son épouse Juliette, va réveiller le géant de pierre et se lancer dans un travail de titan pour dégager cet inestimable patrimoine de l’humanité ! À la suite de Gabriel et Juliette, leurs descendants reprennent le flambeau, donnant naissance à une longue aventure familiale.  

Histoire de famille

Les formules pour visiter la Roque Saint-Christophe

Le site de la Roque Saint-Christophe est ouvert tous les jours de l’année, en visite libre ou guidée selon la saison et sans supplément. Nous vous proposons un riche programme d’animations toute l’année pendant les vacances scolaires, consultez le programme dans la rubrique “animations”.

Vous pouvez acheter vos billets à l’avance sur notre billetterie en ligne. Profitez de nos différentes formules et tarifications, et découvrez nos billets jumelés, pour avoir des réductions lors de la visite de la Maison Forte de Reignac et du Donjon et Manoir de la Salle, deux sites majeurs de la Vallée de la Vèzère, à seulement quelques kilomètres.

Billetterie
Meilleures formules
La Roque s’engage

Visitez éco-responsable

Parce qu’elle protège l’Homme et la nature depuis la Préhistoire, la falaise de la Roque Saint-Christophe en Périgord a obtenu le statut de refuge LPO et le label NF Environnement, valorisant son histoire, sa gestion écologique et la protection de diverses espèces d’oiseaux. En préservant un site millénaire où l’Homme s’est installé il y a 55 000 ans, l’équipe de ce haut lieu touristique de la Vallée de la Vézère a acquis un savoir-faire écologique qui profite au maintien des espèces autour du site.

Notre engagement
cite troglodytique dordogne
côté infos
Les avis clients & vidéos à la une
site troglodyte
Une excellente visite toujours agréable

Excellente visite (première il y a 1 dizaine d’années), toujours agréable. On redécouvre la vue splendide. Même sur un gros WE de congés il n’y a pas eu d’attente à l’entrée et en visite libre c’est parfait avec un enfant. Livrets explicatifs pour adultes et enfants.

Endroit très intéressant à visiter et chargé d’histoire

Nous y sommes allés en couple il y a plusieurs années, nous y retournons avec nos enfants de 2 et 4 ans. Malgré le monde pas de difficulté pour se stationner, plusieurs tables pour pique niquer sur place au bord de l’eau. Comptez environ 11€ l’entrée pour les adultes, gratuit pour les moins de 8 ans. Endroit très intéressant à visiter et chargé d’histoire. En ce long weekend, un camp d’époque avait été installé avec des animations. Prévoyez de bonnes chaussures, cet endroit ravira petits et grands.

visiter la roque hors saison
Parfait avec son chien

Nous avons passé un agréable moment, nous avons même pu amener notre Golden qui a vivement apprécié cette belle visite !

visite avec guide
On recommande la visite guidée qui est très intéressante

Belles découvertes sur l’histoire de la Dordogne, de la vie dans la roque, …
On recommande la visite guidée qui est très intéressante.
Les explications passionnantes du guide Jeremy nous ont transportés et captivés. La démonstration des engins de levage est un plus pour une visite immersive.

avis la roque saint christophe 2
L’accueil fut super

Magnifique avec un jolie panorama. Nous n’avons pas fait la visite guidé car notre petite étant très dynamique nous n’avons pas voulu déranger. Cependant les explications des « pancartes » et la vidéo sont très complète. L’accueil fut super avec un jeune homme hyper gentil et avec beaucoup d’humour. Nous avons fortement apprécié.

Consultez tous les avis

@

la_roque_saint_christophe